Pictures from KSACC

OHV trail restoration. Crews are using vertical mulching techniques to eradicate illegal off road routes at Trona Pinnacles.


Kern Service and Conservation Corps (KSACC)

The Kern Service and Conservation Corporation (KSACC) was created to provide FIELD students, and other underserved youth in Kern County, with opportunities to integrate class room skills into adulthood, careers, further education and training.

Click Here to read about the recent work KASACC corps members are doing with the Tejon Ranch Conservancy and the Los Angeles Conservation Corps.

Service and conservation work includes:
  • Educational service learning through teaching, peer tutoring, and naturalist work (nature guides);
  • Environmental conservation and community service learning
  • Case management through outreach, recruitment, assessment, enrollment, placement, and evaluation
Enrolled students are known as KSACC corps members. Corps members are students with barriers to both high school completion and access to higher education. Corps members are selected for KSACC and may earn vocational and work experience credits, as well as up to $5,000 in scholarship funds for their service in conservation work. Corps members may apply to work in our Learning Centers as peer tutors and basic education teaching assistants. They work and train with graduate school level mentors and credentialed teachers to deliver instruction. Current community partnerships include the Tejon Ranch Conservancy who utilizes our students as nature interpreters or guides, also known as naturalists. Naturalists lead members of the community on wild flower tours in the spring. Selected students receive first aid and CPR training as well as an introductory course about the history of Tejon Ranch and its four distinct ecosystems.

Environmental conservation services provided by KSACC to the community will include litter abatement, graffiti removal, invasive weed removal, trail building and park maintenance in the communities of Arvin, Lamont, Shafter, Tehachapi, and Wasco.
Last updated on February 23, 2016